If you want to become CMA certification holder, you might be wondering: What is CMA Eligibility Criteria? What are the CMA certification requirements in UAE?

There are numerous benefits of doing CMA in UAE. As per latest IMA survey CMAs earn 64% higher than non-CMAs in UAE. With the passage of time demand of CMA certification holders is increasing in Dubai and Abu Dhabi.

There are six (6) eligibility requirements to become CMA. Let’s explain them one by one:

Educational requirements

Student must fulfill any of the following education requirements with reference to CMA eligibility:

  • Bachelor’s Degree from an accredited college or university

This CMA eligibility requirement is straight forward. Important point: bachelor’s degree is acceptable even if you didn’t study accounts, finance, commerce. This means non-finance professionals can also become CMA.

  • Professional Certifications

This option is available to those individuals who do not have bachelor’s degree but they have professional certifications from other bodies. IMA do recognize some professional bodies as per mutual understanding. For example, bachelor’s degree is not required for ACCA qualified individuals.

Note: If your bachelor’s degree is in progress you can still appear and pass CMA exams. Degree will be required only upon awarding for CMA certification.

Experience requirements

In order to fulfill CMA eligibility requirement for experience, you must complete two continuous years of professional experience in management accounting and/or financial management. Experience requirement can be completed either before or after passing of CMA exams within seven years.

CMA Examination

This is the most important CMA eligibility criteria. In fact, this is the only criteria which you should be focusing on. You have to pass two CMA examinations:

Part 1: Financial Reporting, Planning, Performance, and Control (4 hours – 100 multiple-choice questions and two 30-minute essay questions)

Part 2: Financial Decision Making (4 hours – 100 multiple-choice questions and two 30-minute essay questions)

CMA Membership

No one is allowed to appear in CMA examination without becoming member of IMA. There are multiple membership options are available. Most of the students choose professional membership. CMA membership is valid for one (1) year period of time but there can be come exceptions. After one (1) year membership will expire which should be renewed. Remember: expired CMA membership does not entitle you to appear in exam. You must have active IMA membership.

CMA Entrance Fee

CMA entrance fee eligibility requirement is only for one time. Upon registration there will be three (3) year time period to pass CMA examination. If both exam parts are not successfully completed within three years of entering the certification program, any passed part will expire and the CMA entrance fee will have to be repaid.

IMA Statement of Ethical Professional Practice

As being CMA certification holder you are supposed to work IMA ethical professional practice. A commitment to ethical professional practice includes overarching principles that express IMA values and standards that guide member conduct. There are mainly four pillars of IMA ethical statement: competence, confidentiality, integrity, credibility.



VP Academics

Qualified finance professional, diversified experience, passion for learning with ability to guide our students in right directions, are few snapshots of Namita's portfolio.
Email: namita@apex-me.com

Contact us for more information

11 + 9 =

Apex Professional Training Institute